Physics Department

University College Cork

Physics Dept., University College Cork, College Road, Cork.  
Tel: 353-(0)21-4902373
Fax: 353-(0)21-4904880
Tyndall National Institute, Prospect Row, Cork
Tel: 353-(0)21-4904864
Fax: 353-(0)21-4904880

Quantum Optics Group 




and Presentations


Undergraduate Projects




September 2011
Yuqiang Wu has successfully defended his PhD thesis.  Congratulations!
June 2011
Kevin O'Keeffe joins the group through the Tyndall UREKA site. 

April 2011
Group leader, Síle Nic Chormaic, has been made an Honorary Associate Professor at the University of Kwazulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa.

March 2011
Congratulations to Laura Russell for winning UCC's Science for All Postgraduate Public Presentation Competition, speaking on her research topic "The coldest place in Ireland".

January 2011

Kieran Deasy successfully defends his PhD thesis.  Well done, Dr. Deasy!

Malehoholono (Poppy) Semonyo, a doctoral student from UKZN, Durban, South Africa  joins the group for one month skills training.
November 2010
Ashling Creedon and Galvin Khara join the group for their final year projects.
Don O'Neill joins the group as an intern for one year
June 2010
Norma O'Mahony (UCC) joins the group as an undergraduate summer student.

May 2010
Well done to Laura Russell who won the Shell & Institute of Physics Award for the Very Early Career Woman Physicist in Ireland and UK. 

March 2010

Congratulations to Mark Daly for winning the Institute of Physics in Ireland Rosse Medal for postgraduate research.
Congratulations to Jonathan Ward who has won an IRCSET Inspire Fellowship to work in the Humboldt University Berlin and UCC.

November 2009

Michael Morrissey and Jonathan Ward graduate from Cork Institute of Technology with PhDs.  
October 2009
Mark Daly joins the group for his MSc.
Evan Ryan joins the group for his final year undergraduate project.
September 2009
Well done to Laura Russell for winning 1st Prize in the Student Poster Competition at Photonics Ireland 2009. 
Congratulations to Michael Morrissey and Jonathan Ward for successfully defending their PhD theses. 
June 2009
NOIs project receives funding from NanoSci-E+ and SFI.   Vacancy for postdoc through NOIs.  See Vacancies link for more details.

May 2009

Jonathan Ward wins Second Prize in the BOC Student Award run by Tyndall National Institute based on his research outputs.  Congratulations, Jonathan!
April 2009
Kieran Deasy wins Third Prize in the Rosse Medal Student Prize at the Institute of Physics in Ireland Sping Weekend.  Well done, Kieran!  His work can be seen  here.

IOP President, Jocelyn Bell-Burnell presenting the third prize to Kieran Deasy.

Mary Frawley joins the group as a postgraduate student.  Regine Schmidt joins as an ESF exchange researcher.  Welcome to both our new group members.
March 2009
We are co-organising 
in Kinsale, Ireland from 14-16 September 2009. 
We are co-organising  in the University of Leeds, UK from 7-11 September 2009. 
February 2009
POSTGRADUATE VACANCY:  MSc Position on "Manipulation Schemes for Cold Atoms"- fully funded by Science Foundation Ireland.  Click here for details.
January 2009
Mark Daly, Frances Lordan and Alex Petcu join the group for 4th year honours projects.
November 2008
QUANTUM FAIR  - ask the experts everything you ever wanted to know about quantum mechanics!  5.30pm-7pm 10th November, outside Boole 4, UCC.

PUBLIC LECTURE by Prof. Anton Zeilinger on "Quantum Puzzles and their Applications in Future Technologies", 7pm 10th November, Boole 4, UCC. 

Prof. Anton Zeilinger in UCC, Cork .

Thejesh Bandi awarded MSc degree for his thesis on "Cold atom physics: trapping methods and detection schemes".

October 2008

Amy Watkins and Laura Russell join the group as Embark Scholars.

1st North-So
uth Quantum Information Meeting sponsored by Science Foundation Ireland took place from 29th to 31st October in Rosscarbery.

   Participants at the 1st North-South Quantum Information Meeting.

Resonance fluorescence from trapped Rb atoms coupled into an optical fibre.  For details contact Michael Morrissey.

July 2008
Patrick Kelleher joins the group as a summer project student from University College Cork's Physics Department.

Shrabana Chakrabarti joins the group as a Research Assistant from the University of Calcutta, India.

June 2008

Síle Nic Chormaic wins the President's Award for Research on Innovative Forms of Teaching and Learning 2007-2008 for her work on "Benefitting the student experience through e-based learning". 

Juan Yi (Beijing University of Technology, China) joined the group on the SFI-funded Tyndall UREKA site on 16th June for 11 weeks.

Earlier news
Quantum Engineering Workshop  PHOTOS

back to top[back to top]